We did it! We’re are officially Mr. and Mrs. Tylor Orme now! Yesterday was wonderful. Everything went off without a hitch, all our vendors were wonderful, and everyone seemed to have a great time! And we had something of a weather miracle, too. It was cloudy most of the day and then it rained for a good portion of the afternoon, which had me worried. (Note to brides considering an outdoor wedding; always have an indoor back-up option). We had our reception hall as a backup, and Tylor’s mom and her friend Kathleen had made us a gorgeous wedding arch for that purpose, which we displayed behind the head table anyway, but I really wanted to have the wedding in our outdoor space that made me fall in love with the venue in the first place. So you can only imagine my exhilaration when about 2 hours before the wedding, the clouds broke and the sun came out. I am SO grateful. It was a bit humid after all that rain, but our ceremony was shorter anyway, so guests weren’t kept out there for too long. Afterward, people kept commenting on how beautiful the garden was and how birds were flying through the area and such. (Admittedly, everything surrounding us was sort of a blur for the both of us, haha – I don’t even recall the recessional music). So yes, we got to have the wedding we wanted. Tylor was adorably nervous, Ray did an excellent job of officiating, and Claire did so well with the reading. And everyone loved the short ceremony. ;)

The reception was just a blast – we had a great time and so did everyone else  who I’ve talked to. I’m really glad we did the mingly, on-your-feet style reception we did. We got plenty of time to make our rounds to all the tables and actually talk to people. And I think the passed appetizers were a nice touch. Speaking of, the appetizers were de-lic-ious. Poor Tylor didn’t really get to any of them; his stomach was still in knots from earlier. Such a cutie. The cake was a slightly different design from what we talked to our baker about, but it turned out pretty good. Most importantly, it tasted really good. And our DJ was fantastic. I’m going to do reviews for all our vendors on The Knot and any industry-specific websites that they would like a review listed at, but I just have to brag about the DJ. The guy was just on top of things, kept the evening moving smoothly, and was awesome at playing songs that could be enjoyed by our age-varied crowd. That’s not easy when half your guest list is college-aged friends. He did a great job though!

So yeah, everything was pretty great. This morning we had brunch with our immediate families and grandparents, and opened wedding gifts, which was just a nice note to end things on. Then we returned tuxedos and collapsed for a few hours, haha. We both expected to be tired the next morning, but I don’t think either of us had ever expected it to last all day. Tomorrow we head to Detroit, where we’ll be flying out early Tuesday morning to Jamaica!! Then it’s a week of relaxing and… not having to plan anything! Haha. Best thing ever.

When we’re back in town, we’re going to sit down with Garry, our photographer, and talk about getting our wedding picture cd, which I cannot wait to see. Right now, a handful of pics have made it onto facebook; I’m sure more will creep up this week. I know a lot of our out-of-town guests took pictures, but they’re driving home today so won’t get around to posting things today most likely. But as soon as I get pics, I’ll upload some to the blog, or link to an album. For now, I leave you this shot, taken from my lovely new sister-in-law: